In attempting to slow the spread of the COVID-19 virus, some states are placing mandates on their residents leading into the holiday season.
Here are just a few:
In Oregon if you have too many people over for Thanksgiving you could be jailed, fined up to $1,250, or both. For the next two weeks, restaurants and bars are take-out only, gyms are closed, long-term care facilities cannot have visitors, and faith-based gatherings are limited to 25 people indoors or 50 people outdoors.
Californian’s must wear a mask anytime they walk outside of their house. The only exceptions are if you are driving alone in a car or with those from your own household; if you work alone in an office; six feet apart from those not in your household while outdoors; actively eating or drinking while maintaining physical distancing; if you are younger than 2-years-of-age; if you are hearing impaired, or are communicating with one who is; if you have a medical or mental health condition. Indoor gatherings, including Thanksgiving, cannot include people from more than three households and the host must collect contact information of those in attendance for contact tracing.
The state of Ohio is enforcing a three-week curfew in attempt to slow their spread of the virus. The curfew that goes into effect Thursday November 19, 2020 requires residents to be within their houses from 10 pm to 5am. Governor Mike DeWine is hoping this will help slow the spread of the virus and prevent a shutdown of businesses. Those that violate the curfew order could face a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by 90 days in jail, and a $750 fine. Residents are allowed to go to work, the grocery, or if anyone is in need of medical treatment.
Pennsylvania is requiring COVID-19 testing for travelers and require masks to be worn everywhere outside and inside, including in your house with someone who is not of of their household. The order that goes into effect on November 20, 2020 requires anyone who comes in or out of Pennsylvania to have a negative COVID-19 test or quarantine for 14 days. The order does not apply to those who cross state lines commuting for work or medical treatment.